Strange World Review

Hello everyone

Today I will be reviewing Disney Animation’s Newest Film called Strange World.

The Title of Strange World

Strange World is the 61st film in the Disney Animated Canon. It’s about a family exploring a strange new world to figure out how to save their world. The cast is made up of Jake Gyllenhaal, Dennis Quaid, Jaboukie Young-White, Gabrielle Union and Lucy Liu. This film bombed at the Box Office due to Poor Marketing and Now it’s on Disney+. I didn’t get a chance to see this in theaters but I saw this on Disney+ on Christmas Day.

Disney+ Banner for Strange World

Strange World wasn’t as good as other Disney’s Masterpieces but it was a really fun movie. The animations of this movie are amazing and visuals effects in when they are in the strange world. The voice acting is great. Diversity in this film is amazing. The message about generational trauma and the environment fits really well. The 50s/60s adventurous tone music was great. The plot of this movie could have been better but it’s still good. I wish they could’ve had more story on the side characters. Sometimes It felt like I was watching a good Doctor Who episode because of the setting.

My two favorite characters of this movie is Ethan Clade played by Jaboukie Young-White and Splat, a non speaking character in the Strange world. He’s funny during the comedic moments and stands up for what he believes. I love Splat because of its humor in movement. Ethan’s interactions with Splat is hilarious.

Ethan Claude is also known for being Disney Animation’s First LGBTQ original character. I love how they normalize gay attraction and relationships in this film. There’s a lot of review bombing because of that They are saying “This isn’t appropriate for kids and shouldn’t seen this” or “Disney has gone Woke”. Films shouldn’t be reviewed on gay bashing and racist/hate comments but on quality.

I give this movie 8 out of 10 stars. Strange World is a fun movie for the whole family. I think it will be a underrated animated sci-fi movie like Treasure Planet and Atlantis. With Bob Iger back at Disney, I hope they do better with marketing on future movies. With now on Disney+, I hope this movie will go in the direction of Encanto where it will do better in steaming. I recommend that you watch this movie in Disney+.

Thank You for reading this review

Happy Kwanzaa

Happy New Year

And Happy Holidays.